It's a way to have a police officer and magistrate review your traffic ticket without having to come to court for a hearing. It also provides an online path for dealing with your outstanding fail-to-pay and fail-to-appear warrants. If dealing with a failure to pay or failure to appear warrant you will have to post a bond to start the process.
You could get your charge changed to one with no driver's license points. And you can do it online rather than going to court. Please note that while some violations may carry zero points it can still appear on your driving record.
It's not. There's a real magistrate and law enforcement officer on the other side, making decisions about your case based on the same criteria they would if you went to court in person. It just takes place through this website.
You submit a request online for a reduced charge. If you are eligible, the police officer reviews your request and makes a recommendation to the magistrate, who then makes the final decision. You get a text or email with the result.
Everyone makes mistakes. If you have a good driving record, the magistrate and police may be willing to give you a lesser charge that does not add points to your license. Note: It may still appear on your driving record.
Having points on your license can raise your insurance rates, subject you to driver responsibility fees, or result in a suspension of your license to drive.
Fourteen (14) calendar days. If you wait past 14 days, you are ineligible for the program, and your request will be automatically denied.
It depends on your record and other criteria set by the court and law enforcement. Just enter your ticket information and do a search to find out. If you are, submit a request. Whether your request is approved is entirely up to the court and law enforcement.
It could mean your ticket is too old, or that you have too many past offenses or open tickets. Try a search. If you are ineligible, we'll tell you why.
We will email or text you, and we'll update the message on your status page when you come back to the website. As soon as we do, you'll have 2 days to take action on the decision.
You have 2 days to admit responsibility and pay the ticket, deny responsibility and request a hearing, or admit responsibility with a written explanation. More information is on the back of your ticket.
Yes. The fine could change based on the new charge. Either way, you are still responsible for paying it. Only credit card or debit cards are accepted for payment. Please note there could be a processing fee to process your credit or debit card.
No. This website is not “automated.” There's a real magistrate and police officer on the other side, and they make decisions on your case using the same considerations as they would in person. The offer extended to you through this website is the same you'd get in court. It simply takes place through this website.
Whether or not you want to to proceed with a request is up to you. Keep in mind that certain 0-point charges, like speeding 1-5 over on freeways or other limited access roads, will still get reported to the Michigan Secretary of State. That information is then available to your insurer.
You must enter a Michigan Driver's License, the State the ID was issued in, and a Date of Birth (DOB). All 3 are required or you will not be able to use the system. Out of State or Canadian License holders are not eligible for the program
No further requests will be reviewed whether on-line or in person. For example, If you had a traffic violation that was reduced to double parking and you failed to pay your ticket it will revert to the original charge, fees and costs
No, only the person who’s name is on the ticket or warrant may negotiate (No 3rd party negotiation).
If you request to negotiate your traffic ticket on-line your court date will be cancelled and you will be allowed to proceed with your on-line negotiation. If your offer is rejected or you fail to comply with the offer you will have 2 days to request a new hearing date.
Please allow the Court 24 hours for processing time but your payment must be made within 3 business of receiving your notice of approval.
The magistrate will have the necessary information about your ticket and location. You can provide an explanation of your circumstances for the magistrate to consider . For handicap parking tickets, you will need to upload a valid handicap permit and a picture of the permit holder’s license for further consideration. If the permit is in a company name, you will need to upload proof on company letterhead that states your affiliation with the company and what permission you have to use the permit.
You have 14 days. After that a default judgment enters against you, and you cannot request a review. If you have more than one parking ticket, or if there is a hold on your license, you are not eligible for online review.
If you request online review of your ticket, the Magistrate’s decision is final.